Economics serving society

Junior Research Prize 2023 | February 29

The annual Macroeconomic Risk Chair Junior Research Prize distinguishes outstanding research in the field of macroeconomic risk conducted by junior economists (less than ten years after the Ph.D) via a selection committee headed by Gilles Saint-Paul (PSE, ENS-PSL), scientific director of the chair.

The Junior Research Prize 2023 will be awarded to Rohan Kekre (The University of Chicago Booth School of Business) and Moritz Lenel (Princeton University) for their work entitled “The Flight to Safety and International Risk Sharing”.


The award ceremony will take place on Zoom and will be introduced by Gilles Saint-Paul, scientific director of the chair, and Philippe Trainar, director of the SCOR Foundation for Science. It will be followed by the presentation of the awarded paper by the authors and a Q&A session with the audience moderated by Axelle Ferrière, executive director of the chair.

PNG - 35.2 kb

Rohan Kekre

Rohan Kekre is an Associate Professor in Macroeconomics at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and a Faculty Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research. He studies business cycles and stabilization policy. His current research focuses on the role of heterogeneity and asset prices in this context.

PNG - 36 kb

Moritz Lenel

Moritz Lenel is an Assistant Professor at the Bendheim Center for Finance at Princeton University’s Department of Economics and a Faculty Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research. His research interests are in macroeconomics and finance.

PNG - 12.4 kb

The Macroeconomic Risk Chair aims to promote the development and dissemination of research on a range of topics related to the issue of macroeconomic risk, including: taking into account the possibility of fat tail events in macroeconomic and financial modeling, the macroeconomic effects of uncertainty, the financial and macroeconomic contagion effects of crises, and long-term risks.