Economics serving society

International Macroeconomics Chair

PNG - 37.1 kb


The International Macroeconomics Chair was created in September 2009 and is based at Paris School of Economics. It is the result of a partnership between the Banque de France and PSE. Sharing the same vision about scientific needs on international issues, these two organisations joint their efforts to build a chair with the objective of fostering the development of research on the financial & monetary international system, and in international Macroeconomics. This chair is co-directed by Tobias Broer (PSE, Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne University) and Olivier de Bandt (Banque de France).

PNG - 871.2 kb



Several activities are on the chair’s agenda:


After 10 years, the Banque de France - PSE partnership contributes more strongly to macroeconomic research in both institutions. It acts as a bridge between researchers and as an interface between policy and the international research frontier.
The International Macroeconomics Chair is designed to foster the development of research in the following areas:

  • Money, monetary policy, international monetary system; financial integration, international trade ;
  • Fiscal and budgetary policies, debt, defaults, inequalities ;
  • Growth, employment, fluctuations, risk sharing ;
  • Modeling, econometrics ;
  • Globalization.

Chair’s holder

JPEG - 16.4 kb

Chair Holder: Tobias Broer - Professor at PSE and Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne University

Fellow Researchers

Olivier de Bandt (BdF) - Banking, insurance and international economics
Agnès Bénassy-Quéré (PSE) - International monetary economics, european integration, economic policy
Jean-Charles Bricongne (BdF) - International economics, real estate
Matthieu Bussière (BdF) - International monetary economics, european integration, economic policy
Jean-Bernard Chatelain (PSE) - Financial macroeconomics and fluctuations
Nuno Coimbra (PSE) - International financial macroeconomics
Jean-Pierre Danthine (PSE) - Financial and monetary economics, economic policy
Catherine Doz (PSE) - Macroeconomics and econometrics
Laurent Ferrara (BdF) - International finance and economics
Axelle Ferrière (PSE) - International macroeconomics and inequality
Jean-Olivier Hairault (PSE) - Pensions, labour market and fluctuations
Jean Imbs (PSE) - International economics, macroeconomics and structural change
Luc Jacolin (BdF) - International and development economics
Florian Lalanne (BdF) - International monetary macroeconomics
Francesco Pappadà (BdF - visiting PSE 2019-2021) - International macroeconomics
Gilles Saint-Paul (PSE) - Economic policy and institutions, labour market and fluctuations
Julia Schmidt (BdF) - International economics
Pierre Sicsic (BdF) - Macroeconomics, economical history, financial and monetary economics
Daniele Siena (BdF) - International economics
Arthur Stalla-Bourdillon (BdF) - Financial stability and risk assessment
Sebastian Stumpner (BdF) - Macroeconomics
Urszula Szczerbowicz (BdF) - Macroeconomics, financial and monetary economics
Soledad Zignago (BdF) - International economics

Steering Committee

To coordinate its work, the Chair has set up a steering committee made up of the Chair’s holders, Tobias Broer and Francesco Pappadà, and one partner’s representative, Olivier de Bandt (Director of International Economics and Cooperation, Banque de France,).

PSE Partner

PNG - 16.6 kb

Created in 1800 and member of the Eurosystem since 1999, the Banque de France leads several missions: preparing and applying the euro currency unit and its monetary policy, allowing the free circulation of the euro currency, monitoring the main financial markets, watching out the means and systems of payment, and stabilizing the Eurozone, among others.
The Banque de France has also been appointed national missions, such as controlling the financial actors, analysing the financial situation of the private sector and that of the French firms, protecting households, etc.

  • Learn more about Banque de France’s Eco-Notepad featuring educational articles that present the research, studies and economic expertise of the Banque de France.

International Macroeconomics Chair’s communication referent: Samuel Chich